On BT mail, the message history in trash only lasts 7 days. So if you delete a message, it's gone after a week. Anyone know if this setting can be amended please?
Or can messages be deleted direct to a different folder that doesn't empty itself every week? I know you can move to a different folder, but delete button is quicker if this can be used
The Trash folder normally empties on a 30 day rolling program and it can not be changed.
Do you access your email using a web browser or using an email client /app and do you access it on more than one device. If so you should check that the email client/app has not been set to empty the Trash folder more frequently than 30 days.
The delete button is for deleting emails to the Trash folder and its designated purpose can not be changed.
If you do not want something to be deleted perhaps you should not put it into trash and instead move it to a "pending" folder until you have decided that you actually want to delete it.
In case you are not aware you can drag and drop multiple emails into folders by just ticking all the ones you want to move then drag and drop them which may prove to be just as quick as using the delete button.
Thank you so much for your helpful reply and tips.
My trash empties after 7 days (not my typo in the heading!) in both web browser and also on the Apple devices where I also access messages. So even the default 30 days would be better but you're saying this should be standard and can't be changed. So I am confused but thanks anyway for your help.
Did you check your device settings to see if they are configured to empty trash after 7 days thus overriding the default 30 days?
Its not the web browser you need to look at, you can't change it there, it is your Apple devices that have probably been set to delete mails after 7 days. You need to check their settings.
It may have changed with later releases of iOS but it used to be here.
Advanced (no, not a typo)
Deleted Messages ->Remove