Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
mikepencoed
Aspiring Contributor
Message 1 of 12

Unable to send from non BT email addresses

Go to solution

I am new to BT broadband . I have 2 non BT email accounts that I wish to continue using.  I can receive OK from their  server, but when I try to send I keep getting this error message :-

The message could not be sent because the server rejected the sender's e-mail address. The sender's e-mail address was '-----. Subject 'TEST  SIXTEEN', Account: 'POP.-----.net', Server: 'mail.btinternet.com', Protocol: SMTP, Server Response: '553 From address not verified - see http://www.btyahoo.com/verify', Port: 25, Secure(SSL): No, Server Error: 553, Error Number: 0x800CCC78

I have carried out the procedure below, including Verifying

Set up your non-BT Yahoo! email account in Outlook Express as follows:
From the 'Tools' menu in Outlook Express, choose 'Accounts' and select the 'Mail' tab

Double-click on the non-BT Yahoo! account you wish to configure

Select the 'Servers' tab. Incoming mail (POP3) should show your non-BT email server, whereas Outgoing mail (SMTP) will say "mail.btinternet.com". The username and password for your non-BT account will be shown. Be sure to leave the 'Log on using Secure Password Authentication' check-box un-ticked.

Place a tick in the "My server requires authentication" check-box, then click on the Settings button next to it.

Select the 'Log on using' option and enter your BT Yahoo! Mail account username and password. Tick the 'Remember password' option. Click OK, and OK again, followed by Close.

IMPORTANT: You won't be able to send mail until your non-BT Yahoo! email account has been verified. Please follow the instructions at www.btyahoo.com/verify to verify your account.

Can someone suggest what I'm doing wrong please

Thanks , Mike

0 Ratings
11 REPLIES 11
Distinguished Guru
Message 2 of 12

Re: Unable to send from non BT email addresses

Go to solution

@mikepencoed wrote: