Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Fonfish
Aspiring Contributor
Message 1 of 7

Using IMAP for email instead of POP

Hello BT Forum,

I have been using IMAP to configure my email for a couple of years. I prefer it to POP because I can have my BT Yahoo Mail folders on my computer's email. I've had no problems with it until a couple of weeks ago.

I recently renewed my phone and broadband contract with BT and within a day, the IMAP configuration stopped working. I rang BT's technical department and the guy who answered said the IMAP is no longer available because BT has severed its relationship with Yahoo! I've searched online for information about BT and Yahoo! parting ways, but I can't find anything.

FYI I use Mac Mail. I tried deleting the account on Mac Mail and setting up my BT email again using IMAP and this worked OK for a couple of days, but now nothing will download and I am getting the triangle of death.

Please can anyone help? Why would this set-up suddenly stop working? Is it to do with my new contract? Is it true about BT and Yahoo! and why would that make a difference? 

Why does BT make it so very difficult to use its products? The website provides no information on this. If the IMAP configuration is no longer available, it would be helpful if there was an explanation on the website. Can the Mods shed any light on this?

Thanks

0 Ratings
6 REPLIES 6
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 7

Re: Using IMAP for email instead of POP

I haven't heard anything about BTYahoo splitting from Yahoo however I think it would make very many people happy if they did after the ongoing trouble with hacked email accounts.

Back to your problem.

Here is a post regarding similar problem to you

http://community.bt.com/t5/Other-BB-Queries/IMAP-not-working-on-Mail-for-Mac/td-p/774554