cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 21 of 42

Re: Digital Voice Scam

Ok guys,

Can we keep the conversation friendly and on topic please?

Thank you.

Robbie

Message 22 of 42

I think everyone has a point and made valid comments but people -ie nearly everyone reading this- can resolve the -let's call them annoyances and inconveniences- with DV but the vast majority of people out there will not have it so easy.

Most of the proponents of DV are speaking in an echo chamber/preaching to the converted. My worry is the millions out there who have no idea.

I've been using DV for 20 months and the telephone part of it is NOT DECT. I see many people saying that and it is not correct. There is part of it that meets some of the basic DECT standard but anyone who's tried connecting or mixing old (proper) DECT telephones into their DV setup will know of the problems doing so. 

Also, I've noticed my BT Paragon 650 desk telephone/s do NOT link the caller ID information to the saved library of contacts. That's either with the DV dongle or directly into the SH2. Small problem but obviously NOT a proper telephone line as we know it.

I think the best and honest description of DV would be it's a brilliant Internet solution with the voice bit stuck on with a bit of technical Velcro. 

All this talk of 'future voice' too is very unfortunate as it's not the future it's NOW. Is it true people are really getting only 7 days to move from a copper line to DV? I find that a bit hard to believe but if it's true that's not acceptable.

I'm happy with DV/fibre and would never move from it (unless it was to Virgin) as the benefits outweigh the annoyances but I do accept millions of people want a proper telephone line (and they're not going to have it for much longer). That is not available with DV obviously to any real understanding of 'telephone' to the vast majority of people.