cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ShireenM
Beginner
Message 1 of 6

New Broadband, wrong landline

Hello everyone, I'm new to BT broadband and it's been a frustrating journey so far... this is a very complicated situation - so please forgive me.

I bought BT Fibre broadband in late March with the intent to have a new phone line put in so that my parents could have one and I could have my own (which I could take with me when I eventually move out).

When the engineer installed the new broadband he did not install a new line, he effectively replaced my parent's phone number with my new BT Broadband number.

I know from contacting BT support that my parent's number is still active but when I ring out of their phone is displays my new number. The last time I contacted BT, they said they would test the line and I've heard nothing since.

So my issue is, how do I do either of the following two things:

1. Remove my number from the home phone, return my parent's number and keep my BT Fibre Broadband?
  2. Move the BT Fibre broadband onto my parent's number?
0 Ratings
5 REPLIES 5
licquorice
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 6

Re: New Broadband, wrong landline

Do you have 2 lines into the property, i.e are there 2 completely separate master sockets?

Did your parents previously have broadband?

0 Ratings
ShireenM
Beginner
Message 3 of 6

We only have one phone line into the house.

Yes, they are currently with EE - which they are going to cancel soon.

0 Ratings
licquorice
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 4 of 6