Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Beginner
Message 1 of 9

ASUS DSL-AC88u won’t verify ISP number

Hi, 

I’m totally new to this so I shall try and explain as simply as possible. I’ve recently been given a new router. The asus dsl-88u. I’ve removed my old home hub and plugged the dsl cable that was previously in my home hub into the asus. All the lights come on apart from the internet light.  I go to 192.168.1.1 and start the setup process for the router. It detects what model the router is and then asks me which country I live in and what my ISP is. I put UK and BT infinity. It then asks what my username and password is for my ISP. I put:

username: btbroadband@btbroadband.com

password: BT

It then searches to check my credentials but after 5 mins it times out and asks to check again. It continuously times out I matter how many times I check. If I choose to cancel the search a screen pops up and tells me that my password and username were authenticated but my ISP won’t give the router a valid isp number. Am I missing something here? 

thanks in advance.

0 Ratings
8 REPLIES 8
Highlighted
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 9

Re: ASUS DSL-AC88u won’t verify ISP number

User is bthomehub@btbroadband.com and password anything you want. BT if you want

If you like a post, or want to say thanks for a helpful answer, please click on the Ratings 'Thumbs up' on left hand side.
If someone answers your question correctly please let other members know by clicking on ’Mark as Accepted Solution’.
0 Ratings
Highlighted
Beginner
Message 3 of 9

Hi,