cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 1 of 9

Accessing WiFi output from CCTV using my broadband/WiFi Smarthub 2router and computer

I am a novice regarding WiFi.

I have a Smarthub 2 router with a Hybrid gismo which rarely shows anything but 3 red bars!

Following recent attempts to  break in  to my garage, I have been advised to mount a WiFi CCTV on said garage's front.

This means I will be forced to buy a smartphone  (payg naturally) or possibly use the WiFi facility on my router.

The camera would be located approx 30m from the router. I live in a timber framed and clad bungalow, which I assume would present less signal interference.

Will the router require an aerial and could the aerial be mounted remotely via a wan cable?

Would this be a viable option? I assume that viewing the cctv images would require switching between networks?

BobH2

0 Ratings
8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9

Re: Accessing WiFi output from CCTV using my broadband/WiFi Smarthub 2router and computer

@BobH2 

Welcome to this user forum for BT Retail phone and broadband customers.

Wireless over that distance may not be reliable. If its important, then its best connected using an Ethernet cable from the house. You need a camera that has Ethernet and wireless capability.

Look at the ieGeek range on Amazon. I have a number of these cameras, and they have both wireless and Ethernet connectivity. The one shown below, is a later version.

ieGeek 2k Security Camera Outdoor Wireless with Automatic Tracking, CCTV Camera Systems with Full-Colour Night Vision, Pan/Tilt 360°, 2-way Audio...

Assuming you have power in the garage to power the camera, if you cannot run a cable, then powerline adapters may work, they can extend an Ethernet connection from the home hub to the garage.

You can always try wireless first, to see if it works.

0 Ratings
Message 3 of 9

Re: Accessing WiFi output from CCTV using my broadband/WiFi Smarthub 2router and computer