cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 1 of 8

Advice for removing SH2 and using ASUS DSL-AC68U

Go to solution

I have BT fibre to my home and currently using SH2. However, I find the wifi signal very unreliable, even with 1, 2 or 3 discs trying in various locations (it is an L shaped property). I have had a tech visit from BT but the recommendation of using a single disc did not improve the wifi at all. Additionally, the disc that was placed in the recommended location keeps loosing connection to the SH2. I've turned it off now.

Is there a way for me to remove the SH2 completely and replace with my ASUS DSL-AC68U?

I have tried but whilst setting up the AC68U but I could not get past step 2 – connect phone line. Does the AC68U only work if there is a phone line connected to it?

I'd rather not run a cable around the house to connect the AC68U to a phone!

I am a novice so it is OK to assume I know nothing.

0 Ratings
7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8

Re: Advice for removing SH2 and using ASUS DSL-AC68U

Go to solution

If you have fibre to the home, you don't need the DSL version of the Asus, just the RT version. If the device you have has a WAN port, you need to connect it to the ONT instead of the SH2. I'm not familiar with Asus devices, you might have to configure it so that it expects a connection on the wan port rather than the DSL port. 

0 Ratings
Message 3 of 8

Go to solution

I did wonder if it would be something like your response.

Is there a way I could use the DSL-AC68U as a wifi extended hard wired into my SH2?

0 Ratings
Message 4 of 8

Go to solution

I suspect there is an option somewhere to configure one of the LAN ports as a WAN if you want to use it as a direct replacement.

If you just want to use it as a WiFi access point, give it an IP address of 192.168.1.20, Gateway 192.168.1.254, turn off DHCP and connect it LAN port to LAN port to the SH2.

0 Ratings
Message 5 of 8

Go to solution