Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
JJ-2409
Beginner
Message 1 of 15

Alternative modem router to replace BT HH5

Firstly let me say, I am not tech savvy. I am not up on the abbreviations or some lingo. So please if you can help, please use simple English.

My issue like many others is that BT standard hubs are not good enough for the amount of devices the "standard" household has. So I have been looking for a 3rd party replacement modem router, to greatly increase connectivity in my house. (I can't watch iPlayer without lag if someone is using the internet radio!!!!!!)

When I say "standard" household, I'm talking 2 smartphones, 2 tablets, 2 game consoles, desktop, 2smart TVs, Apple TV, NAS drive, airprint printer, internet connected thermostat, and I'm sure other devices I can't think of! (That's standard right?)

So I have looked at alternatives, the three main below;

NETGEAR D8500-100EUS Nighthawk X8 AC5300

ASUS DSL-AC88U AC3100

And recently the Billion 4x4 MU-MIMO AC 2400

All seem to have good and bad points but none seem definitive, (and as I said at the start I'm not an expert) and after some good advice, opinions, or is there another option I should look at?

Please can someone help? Lag is now the new common enemy!
0 Ratings
14 REPLIES 14
TimCurtis
Recognised Expert
Message 2 of 15

Re: Alternative modem router to replace BT HH5

I've been using an Asus DSL-AC68U for some considerable time & can highly recomend it.

The DSL-AC88U is it's replacement so should be equally good although when new models come out there are often slight firmware issues , not referring specifically to Asus here btw.

Netgear have some iPV6 issues in that they don't fully support BTs implementation I believe so I'd steer away from them.

flamethrower
Aspiring Expert
Message 3 of 15

Hi @JJ-2409

Welcome to the BT Community Forums.