Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Aspiring Contributor
Message 1 of 5

BT Broadband network architecture

Go to solution

Hi all,

I'm new to DSL, having had cable since forever, and I'm struggling a little with working out the concepts of the network design from both a physical and an IP perspective. I have Fibre 250. As far as I can work out, it looks (at a simplistic level)  like this:

SH2 --> ONT --> DSLAM --> BRAS --> (ISP network) --> Internet router

The SH2 is clearly a router. The ONT looks like an L2 bridge (i know it's a lot more than that, the user guide is 400 pages...). the DSLAM is an L2 concentrator of some kind, and the BRAS seems to route traffic into the ISP network. I'm probably assuming that the PPPoE connection is to the BRAS.

Some questions:

1) My SH2's default gateway is 172.12.something. I think it is the same address that my Sophos UTM got when it was connected to the ONT. as both devices had the same address, it might seem that it is assigned to me as a subscriber or something else unique to me or my premises - is that the case?

2) my SH2 (and my UTM) both know what my internet address is (the SH2 says it's a 5.x.x.x address, UTM shows as an 86.y.y.y). How do they know that? advertised route from the BRAS? something inherent in PPPoE (no experience of it at all)

3) Why do the SH2 and UTM get in totally different ranges? I did consider that it might be related to the BT public wifi service, just a guess.

4) which device and interface in my simplified  description above hosts my 5.x.x.x internet address? the BRAS' ISP-side interface?

just want to understand a little more about what's happening, and hopefully draw a diagram of how it fits together.

Thanks

DM

0 Ratings
4 REPLIES 4
Highlighted
Sage
Message 2 of 5

Re: BT Broadband network architecture

Go to solution
Highlighted
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 3 of 5

Go to solution

@darthmuppet wrote:

Hi all,