cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Beginner
Message 1 of 9

BT Halo and Sky Q

I upgraded our Router to the BT Halo last week.  After the change I needed to update my Sky Q box.   I keep getting the error message about not giving out IP addresses.   The Sky Q box finally works but I find every time that I have to switch off the router it goes off again.    I have two other Sky mini boxes in the house, one has worked, the other which is further away from the router will not work at all.   The are not properly connected.   I know that if I call BT they will blame Sky and vice versa.  I went into the admin part of the router but don't know what to change.  I am not very technical but can follow instructions.  I have round a few things that might help but frankly don't understand what they are telling me.   I was assured when I bought the BT Halo that it would be better than the previous one, but it does not appear to be so in terms of signal.

0 Ratings
8 REPLIES 8
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 9

Re: BT Halo and Sky Q

If it was Halo 1 you added that is just an add-on and does nothing to your actual connection but gives some additional benefits.  Have you tried changing the channels especially the 5ghz. Set channels to manual instead of auto and move the 5 ghz channel to either 44 or 48 just not 36 as skyq uses that

also I would get a wifi analyser for phone and check what networks are near you and channels in use and set your channels to free or less congested channels

i have sh2 and skyq + 3 mini boxes all connected wireless without problems

If you like a post, or want to say thanks for a helpful answer, please click on the Ratings 'Thumbs up' on left hand side.
If someone answers your question correctly please let other members know by clicking on ’Mark as Accepted Solution’.
0 Ratings
Beginner
Message 3 of 9