cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cdrjameson
Message 1 of 4

BT Home Hub 5 replacement?

BT Engineers installed Infinity2 and wired speeds are good (70Mbps+). However wireless is pretty appalling with the HH5. I have just moved in so I have no experience of other routers wireless speed in this home. I have changed the 2.4GHz and 5GHz to unique names and tried connections to both and I have selected the least busy channels in my area, and every combination thereof to no avail. The biggest complaint is from my wife who cannot use Apple Facetime without continual buffering, and broken audio.

Most devices are wired directly to the router and through a homeplug network, that has acceptable speeds to stream HD video to the TV. (I know I could get a WiFi hotspot homeplug but I don’t want to lose anymore plugs) The tablets and laptops and smartphones in the home (there are 😎 have very poor speed and also sporadic disconnects, one laptop even has inbuilt ac wireless with similar issues.

The HH5 is near to a radiator but no other sources of interference that I am aware of (cordless phones, baby monitors, (the room where you cook food) appliances, fluorescent lights etc.)

I am resigned to replacing the HH5 with another more powerful router that also supports ac, preferably one that also supports DD-WRT or Tomato firmware. Currently the master socket connects to the HH5 via a standard telephone cable (this is from memory as I am at work) i.e. there is no separate modem.

1. Do I need to buy an open reach modem to run a different wireless router?
  2. Will other brand modems work?
  3. What technology should I be looking out for in a non BT modem?
  4. What cables connect the modem to the master Socket and to the router?
  5. Is there a significant overhead for connecting an extra appliance? (modem) 

I am aware of an Asus router that has an inbuilt VDSL modem, negating the need for an extra modem but it doesn't support AC Wireless.