cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Windward10
Beginner
Message 1 of 12

BT Smarthub & D-Link 880l

I am a real newbie at networking, routers etc. Due to DSS-PSI requirements I have had to upgrade my firewall and the BT Smarthub on ADSL will not cut the mustard. I have bought a DIR-880l and delivery happened some while ago, but I couldn't get time to set it up. I have discovered that I stupidly ordered the wrong item and it needed a dsl modem and it is too late to return it.

I have a BT Smarthub and tried to set it up as a modem only (Wifi off and DCHP off), but although it will connect to BT via PPoE, the D-Link router connects then drops straight out. The only way I can get the two to see each other is to a) leave DCHP on, 2) set the IP range on the Smart Hub to 192.168.1.64 to 192.168.1.65 and I get internet. Trouble is I no longer get IPv6 only IPv4 and I am not sure how secure this is. I am into day 5 of trying different set ups, but must acknowledge I don't know enough to fix this. Can anyone talk me through the settings or make any suggestions?

Smiley EmbarassedSmiley Mad

0 Ratings
11 REPLIES 11
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 12

Re: BT Smarthub & D-Link 880l

Welcome to this user forum.

The smart hub cannot be used as a modem, you would have to obtain a separate modem.

Is it a normal BT Broadband connection, or BT Infinity?

0 Ratings
Liam_
Expert
Message 3 of 12

If looking for a modem you might get a used Openreach one from the usual auction site.  However if you want a new one there are only two devices available, the Netgear DM200 and the DrayTek Vigor 130.  The Netgear is a limited capability router and needs to be configured as a modem only.  The DrayTek works out of the box, no configuration required.  Both new devices support both ADSL and VDSL.  No idea how good the Netgear is but I use a Vigor 130 here and found it most reliable.