cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JohnB54
Message 1 of 7

Broadband Wifi/Ethernet Powerline extender compatibility

Go to solution

I'd be very grateful for some advice regarding my home network. I currently have a BT Mini Connector kit (two units, plug-through) providing ethernet connections for my TV and PC. I want to extend the ethernet and add at least one wifi booster. I have a couple of TP-Link Powerline plugs (one ethernet, one wifi/ethernet) which appeared to be compatible (according to what I've read online), but they don't seem to want to talk to the  BT Mini Connectors. As I'm no techie, I plan to simply buy some more BT-branded connectors, but was wondering if I might encounter similar problems with different models? My mini connectors were bought in 2017 and I'm thinking of buying a pair of Flex 1000 adaptors and a WiFi Extender 750. 

0 Ratings
6 REPLIES 6
Highlighted
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 7

Re: Broadband Wifi/Ethernet Powerline extender compatibility

Go to solution

You cannot have two different systems running on your electric ring mains

If you like a post, or want to say thanks for a helpful answer, please click on the Ratings 'Thumbs up' on left hand side.
If someone answers your question correctly please let other members know by clicking on ’Mark as Accepted Solution’.
JohnB54
Message 3 of 7

Go to solution

Thanks. I can understand the TP Link plugs not working, but will the (newer) BT  extenders not be compatible?

0 Ratings
V_Meldrew
Recognised Expert
Message 4 of 7

Go to solution

BT branded devices (e.g. BT Mini Wi-Fi Home Hotspot 600 Multi Kit) support expansion of the powerline network by adding extra devices.