cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 1 of 8

Connecting 2 BT modems to Draytek Vigor 3220. Have I misunderstood?

Hello there, I currently have 2 FTTC broadband lines to my property and my intention was to load-balance these lines.
I purchased a Draytek Vigor 3220 Quad-Wan router as it seems to have the features that I am looking for.

Full disclosure, I'm not experienced with Networking, but I'm trying to learn.

So, currently I have both my homehubs plugged in and verified running with solid speeds.
As I understand it, I should be able to use ethernet from these 2 modems and connect them to WAN1 and WAN2 of the Vigor 3220 for load balancing and output from the LAN connector to my network switch.
I'm beginning to fear that I've made some kind of grave mistake and purchased the wrong device or misunderstood HOW it works.
Currently, I cannot get either line to register on the Vigor.
I've tried using PPPoE as well as Dynamic IP, but to no avail. 
When attempting PPPoE, I've been using the credentials bthomehub@btbroadband.com with the pass of BT, but I feel like I'm barking up the wrong tree. If I'm just passing ethernet over to the Vigor, does it need to use my credentials?

What's got me wondering, is if I enable IPV6 via DHCP(?), that seems to auto configure itself, but IPV4 just isn't working at all under PPPoE, or Dynamic IP.

I feel like I'm either missing something incredibly simple like a setting here or a value there, or I've done a silly and got the wrong kit for the job... or been sillier and totally misunderstood what is and isn't possible in the first place haha

Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance,
Alexander Wilson

0 Ratings
7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8

Re: Connecting 2 BT modems to Draytek Vigor 3220. Have I misunderstood?

You have it completely wrong on many points unfortunately.