Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
ct36
Message 1 of 10

Connecting two home networks

Hey guys,  

It's my first time on the boards so apologies if I'm posting this in the wrong place.

We live out in the sticks with connection speeds of little over 1.5mbs, so my brother and I both have our own connections to avoid congestion (and fist fights because we both can't watch Netflix at the same time). So, we both have our own separate connections for our own use, but we would still like our devices to be able to communicate with each other for media servers and smart home integration etc

below is a very crude drawing of our current setup, green and blue boxes represent each of our home networks, the question is how to I make the red lines happen without using each other's internet connections? 

IMG_0002-2.png

I'm fairly sure I can't just ethernet the two networks together, do I need some kind of bridge or additional router to make this work? Any help would be a massive help guys.

thanks!

0 Ratings
9 REPLIES 9
Liam_
Expert
Message 2 of 10

Re: Connecting two home networks

Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 3 of 10

If we assume the media servers and the smart home are static devices that don't need to initiate a connection, connect those to their respective hubs via Ethernet and  just make everything else wifi. All you need to do then is to connect to the appropriate SSID for the specific device you wish to connect to. No interconnecting of networks required as such. You would obviously only be able to be connected to devices on one or other of the networks at a given time.

0 Ratings
sjonez
Contributor
Message 4 of 10

You need to keep the networks seperate so the easiest way is by using a router with a couple of interfaces (the best would be something you can install dd-wrt or tomato firmware on).