cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
A1F19X-Ryl
Message 1 of 4

Console Gaming - NAT Issues - Workaround and Solution (for BT to implement)

I've already used the BT Broadband Contact Us, to raise this issue. They said it was beyond them and that they'd forward me an address for a technical forum. They've not managed to do so yet, so I'm trying here.

Problem:

NAT hole punching regularly fails between peers/players, manifests as "Cannot chat to player due to NAT Issues" on many different broadband routers.

TL/DR:

The BT Home Hub iptables INPUT chain should have a default action of DROP and not REJECT.

Long Version:

I'm a network engineer and programmer analyst and have been for approaching two decades. I'm also a gamer. I'm regularly frustrated by NAT Issue errors while trying to play online games with my friends.

Frustrated for so long, we decided to start analysing the problem. Using packet captures and simulations, we have reproduced the problem and identified dubious logic in the netfilter conntrack module in the Linux kernel.

When it works:

When using a Playstation 4 to play Destiny, using either in-game or PS Party chat, each console uses a NAT discovery service to find it's external IP address and make an educated guess as to whether there is port translation.

At the end of this process, each Player Console receives IP/Port pairs for the other players, they then emit UDP from their desired port to the IP/Port pair of each of the other Players. These UDP packets pass through their NATing routers and establish conntrack entries for the source ip/port, destination ip/port and protocol (here on referred to as five-tuple) with NAT associations with the console's LAN ip address and port; this is the hole-punching.

All being well, each players console has created an association for each of the other players packets to come back through and then they are able to send each other data on these ports.