cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
curiousfellow
Aspiring Expert
Message 1 of 10

Dropped connection with different devices

OK, bit of background, I worked in IT so Im familiar with some stuff but not a network guy.

Ive been on fibre for a number of years. My equipment was the BT HH3 and separate white modem box. However, i didnt like the HH3 so bought an Netgear WNDR4500 and configured this to work with the BT modem. These are plugged into a phone box with a separate fibre and phone socket. This is not an extension box and none of the original set up has changed.

Everything has been fine for years except a month or so ago, I noticed while I was still connected wirelessly to the WNDR4500, no device ie smartphone, lappie etc was actually connected to the net. Rebooting the WNDR4500 resolved this.

Then in the last 2 days, this became more frequent and completely random. I couldnt find anything in the WNDR4500 logs to explain it. It got so bad that this morning, I unplugged the BT modem and 4500 and activated the home SmartHub 6 around 10:30am 5 Jan.

Everything was fine until 00:15am approx on 6 Jan when suddenly the net connection went down. I looked at the SH6 and the blue light had turned orange. After a couple of minutes the SH6 re connected to the net.

There is no noise on the line when checked via a quiet line test.

I checked the DCHP server lease time in the SH6 is set to 1 day. Ive looked in the SH6 'Technical log' but I all I can see is CWMP Initialising transaction for event code6 connection request at 00:15am

Im concerned these frequent disconnects will hammer by connection speed. Advice would be appreciated.

Is there any way to attached the Event log here for review?

0 Ratings
9 REPLIES 9
albertj
Expert
Message 2 of 10

Re: Dropped connection with different devices

Hi @curiousfellow 

Thought I recognised this post... you have posted recently with a very similar description; why are you posting a new thread?