cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 1 of 16

Fibre 900 FTTP PPPoE set up with MikroTik

Hi, I'm struggling to get my MikroTik router to make a working connection directly to the BT ONS with PPPoE.

The MikroTik is set up with 

User = bthomehub@btbroadband.com

and 

Password = BT

I have selected 'Peer DNS' and this seems to be working as the router displays the BT dns server adderesses and the router says it is connected but I cannot ping any addresses from inside the router itself and have no internet on the lan side.

I have ip6 enabled on the router and in the 'profile' I am using.

The MikroTik has the standard firewall config enabled, this seems to work fine when I hang the MikroTik downstream of the SmartHub2 but I wonder if it is blocking the PPPoE connection somehow.

I'm no router expert and I'm beginning to flounder round in the MikroTik options!   Any suggestions greatly appreciated.

Ta

H

0 Ratings
15 REPLIES 15
Message 2 of 16

Re: Fibre 900 FTTP PPPoE set up with MikroTik

As this appears to be a MikroTik problem rather than a BT problem, you might be better advised by posting on the Mikrotik forum.

0 Ratings
Message 3 of 16

Wise words, I'm sure.

I'm  a man of faith and I hope there maybe some one here who was walked this way before.

And I have seen conflicting advice on the credentials for instance and on the correct settings for 'Peer DNS'. There may be something to be gained from general PPPoE wisdom.  Or even BT PPPoE wisdom, I don't know enough about PPPoE to know if such a thing exists. And Mr. MikroTik says he is connected...

I can't be the only MikroTik user in BT world, surely!

ta like,

H

0 Ratings
Message 4 of 16

The PPPoE credentials you are using are the correct ones, there is nothing further to add from a BT requirement perspective.

0 Ratings
Message 5 of 16

Solution

First follow the guide here

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LU_DVecSfPE

The web version is here.