Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JTopCat
Aspiring Contributor
Message 21 of 26

Re: Google Nest WiFi, Double NAT and woe

@sjd201 

I agree - I'm extremely surprised that Google don't seem to have considered the way that the vast majority of users in the UK have their home networks configured (combined modem/router supplied by ISP which cannot be configured in bridge mode).

You're braver than me in continuing to persevere with the Nest system! I'd be interested to hear how you get on, but it sounds like a lot of hoops to jump through. I'm a total home networking novice and fear that even if I were able to get such a setup working, as soon as someone pushes an update (either BT, Google or the switch manufacturer) I'd be completely out of my depth fault-finding if something went wrong.

I'm slightly confused about how the BT WHW system should be any different though. BT state that the system is compatible with any ISP in the UK, but how do they avoid the same double NAT issue if I was to plug it into a combo modem/router from another ISP? I've tried looking for this issue online, but searches for 'BT Whole Home WiFi double NAT' just end up returning pages like this one where people are trying to use aftermarket routers (Apple AirPort or Google Nest) with their BT HomeHub and coming unstuck.

However, I'd hope that if I did go ahead with the WHW and then ran into trouble, BT should be able to help me work through things given that they supply the broadband service, the SmartHub and the WHW discs. With the Google system, I'm left with both sides pointing fingers at the other, which doesn't help me stuck in the middle!

0 Ratings
Keith_Beddoe
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 22 of 26

@JTopCat wrote:

@sjd201