cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
portunus
Aspiring Contributor
954 Views
Message 1 of 24

HH6 resets etc

This seems to crop up a lot. Have the smart hub, home hub 6. It keeps resetting and rebooting. As a result speed drops from 12.35/54.96 Noise 6.1/6.1, (max 12.48/55.7) and is now  12.19/46.43. The line is quiet.  The last engineer visit 27th july resolved a line fault on the pole! The speed is now at its best! It was dropping before that and still continues.

What is the best remedy? I'd think a new hub is the best course? I note some buy a new router, is it that bad to solve?

Thanks for any information

 

Doug

 

0 Ratings
Reply
23 REPLIES 23
portunus
Aspiring Contributor
922 Views
Message 2 of 24

Re: HH6 resets etc

Can I reply? Meant to add, how do I get the line 'reset' Is there a contact or does this need a full engineer carry on?

0 Ratings
Reply
portunus
Aspiring Contributor
921 Views
Message 3 of 24

Re: HH6 resets etc

Can I reply to myself? Actually mean to add can this line be 'reset'? Is there a contact or does it need to go through whole enginner process? Thanks.

0 Ratings
Reply
Moderator
Moderator
890 Views
Message 4 of 24

Re: HH6 resets etc

@portunus can you post your router stats and we'll take a look?

0 Ratings
Reply
portunus
Aspiring Contributor
874 Views
Message 5 of 24

Re: HH6 resets etc

00:00:56, 01 Jan.

BR_LAN:The DHCP options that are offered by the device (id:3): DiscoverOptions: | DiscoverOption55: | RequestOptions: 53,61,50,54,57,55,60 | RequestOption55: 1,3,6,12,15,28,42 | HostName: | VendorId: udhcp 1.18.5.18.5

00:00:53, 01 Jan.

BR_LAN:UPnP functionality has been activated

00:00:52, 01 Jan.

:DHCP Confirmation of Request

00:00:43, 01 Jan.

:This Rule has been applied successfully: [id:1, InternalClient: , External Ports:(0,0), Internal Ports: (0,0), Protocol: ]

00:00:43, 01 Jan.

:Updating port mapping rule (1) by UPnP

00:00:42, 01 Jan.

eth2:An Ethernet port is now connected (3/100/FULL)

00:00:40, 01 Jan.

BR_LAN:The LAN DHCPv6 Server is active

00:00:40, 01 Jan.

:The LAN DHCP Server is active

00:00:39, 01 Jan.

BR_LAN: Allocated prefix = fdaa:bbcc:ddee::/64 (valid time = 4293967296 / preferred time = 4293967296)

00:00:39, 01 Jan.

:DNS name resolution is now active

00:00:38, 01 Jan.

wl0:WLAN has been deactivated (BTWifi-X) (band : 5GHz).

00:00:38, 01 Jan.

wl0:WLAN has been deactivated (BTWifi-with-FON) (band : 5GHz).

00:00:38, 01 Jan.

wl0:WLAN has been activated (BTHub6-GF2G-5) (band : 5GHz).

00:00:38, 01 Jan.

wl1:WLAN has been deactivated (BTWifi-X) (band : 2.4GHz).

00:00:38, 01 Jan.

wl1:WLAN has been deactivated (BTWifi-with-FON) (band : 2.4GHz).

00:00:38, 01 Jan.

wl1:WLAN has been activated (BTHub6-GF2G) (band : 2.4GHz).

00:00:36, 01 Jan.

Default:Firewall change to Level: FRWL

00:00:36, 01 Jan.

wl0:(0/44) Channel Hopping initiated/Manually initiated

00:00:36, 01 Jan.

wl1:(0/1) Channel Hopping initiated/Manually initiated

00:00:35, 01 Jan.

:The Modem has successfully powered up

00:00:35, 01 Jan.

:WDG Laststatus:: # Current boot was caused by Soft Reset (SAAF)

00:00:28, 01 Jan.

:The Modem underwent a warm reset

00:00:24, 01 Jan.

HI

Thanks for getting back, heres a bit from last reset, around 2days 20 hrs

Limited to 20k characters here. Let me know what bits are needed!

Cheers Doug

:WAN: ethernet as LAN

17:21:12, 23 Aug.

dsl:VDSL Link Down: duration was 842647 seconds

17:21:12, 23 Aug.

:VLAN VLAN_DATA disconnected

17:21:11, 23 Aug.

:Connection to the Internet has been terminated.(Reboot,Reconfiguration,forced termination)

0 Ratings
Reply
Moderator
Moderator
856 Views
Message 6 of 24

Re: HH6 resets etc

Hi @portunus

Thanks for posting back!

We need a little more info that that.  Access your Smart Hub's manager (192.168.1.254) and choose Advanced>Technical Log

Post back with a screenshot of that page and we'll take it from there.

Cheers,

Robbie

0 Ratings
Reply
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
852 Views
Message 7 of 24

Re: HH6 resets etc

it's the technical log information not the actual log



If you like a post, or want to say thanks for a helpful answer, please click on the Ratings 'Thumbs up' on left hand side.
If someone answers your question correctly please let other members know by clicking on ’Mark as Accepted Solution’.
0 Ratings
Reply
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
851 Views
Message 8 of 24

Re: HH6 resets etc

0 Ratings
Reply
portunus
Aspiring Contributor
837 Views
Message 9 of 24

Re: HH6 resets etc

HI

Thanks again for taking time to reply, appreciated. Here's that page:

Product name:

BT Hub 6A

Serial number:

+084316+NQ70220037

Firmware version:

SG4B1000B540

Firmware updated:

16-May-2018

Board version:

1.0

Gui version:

1.64.0

DSL uptime:

3 Days, 15 Hours 6 Minutes 45 Seconds

Data rate:

12.19 Mbps / 46.43 Mbps

Maximum data rate:

12604 / 54843

Noise margin:

6.4 dB / 6.3 dB

Line attenuation:

19.6 dB

Signal attenuation:
 
VPI / VCI:

0/38

Modulation:

G_993_2_ANNEX_B

Latency type:

Fast Path

Data sent / received:

4354 MB Uploaded / 9490 MB Downloaded

Broadband username:

bthomehub@btbroadband.com

BT Wi-fi:

Not active

2.4 GHz wireless network name:

BTHub6-GF2G

2.4 GHz wireless channel:

Smart (Channel 6)

5 GHz wireless network name:

BTHub6-GF2G-5

5 GHz wireless channel:

Channel 44

Wireless security:

WPA2 (Recommended)

Wireless mode:

Mode 1

Firewall:

On

MAC address:

A4:08:F5:7F:75:7D

Software variant:

-

Boot loader:

7.33.1

0 Ratings
Reply
Moderator
Moderator
825 Views
Message 10 of 24

Re: HH6 resets etc

Hi @portunus

Thanks for posting back!  That's exactly what we're looking for Smiley Happy

Is the connection still dropping out?  I can see the current network uptime is 3 days 15 hours.  Provided the connection remains stable DLM should automatically improve the speed again.  However, there isn't much of a speed difference between what you had and what you're currently getting so this process can take a few weeks.  Your best bet would be to keep the service connected as much as possible and avoid any manual resets.

If after this time you're still not seeing an increase then we can certainly have another look for you.

Cheers,

Robbie

0 Ratings
Reply