cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jimmyeao
Beginner
Message 1 of 7

Home Hub 5 Wireless / DNS issues

Since upgrading to a Home Hub 5 I have had nothing but issues, forcing me to go back to using my (faulty) Home Hub 3 as it is more reliable!

BT Support are not interested unless I use their 'paid for' service to troubleshoot the issue, which I am not prepared to do.

So the issue:

All devices connect are funtion at first.

My Laptop, which has an Intel Centrino Ultimate N6300 Wireless card in, keeps losing connectivity. Note, at first, it loses connectivity to the internet, but NOT connection to the Hub.

This manifests itself as not being able to perform DNS queries, disconnecting and reconnecting the wireless does not resolve the issue. I have to fully reboot, although occasionally, if i do an ipconfig /flushdns and then reset the adapter it will work again briefly.

Now, I use this latop for work (Im an IT tech) and it works flawlessly with every other AP I use, Aruba, Aerohive, Cisco, even consumer devices such as the cheap SKY routers and Netgear routers.

None of my other devices in the house appear to drop, whether wireless or hard wired.

The only thing I can conclude is that there is a flaw in the HomeHub 5 that cuases it to baulk when trying to talk to my laptop, either with the firmware or inherent in the hardware. BT will not acknowledge this issue unless I go through their paid for support. (I refuse, as this has done it 'out the box' I consider it to be a warranty issue)

I would like to start a list of incompatible devices here so we can take this back to BT and get something done about it.

0 Ratings
6 REPLIES 6
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 7

Re: Home Hub 5 Wireless / DNS issues

Have you checked that your laptop wireless network card drivers are up to date. Use the card or laptop manufactures website rather than Windows which can be out of date.