cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 1 of 22

Hybrid Connect, network switch, separate DHCP server

FIRSTLY I AM NOT A BT ENGINEER, BUT I have spent a lot of time today experimenting to how the Hybrid Setup works in Fail over.

I have a bespoke setup... VERY bespoke. Network ports all around the house, plugged into a network switch. A Separate DHCP server, hub obviously has this feature disabled. So collectively the Hub is only responsible as a gateway to the internet, not DNS and not DHCP. I then added on the Hybrid connect.

I recently had an outage and the Hybrid connect failed to... well, fail over. In fact as part of this it took out all connectivity on my network.  The hub didn't even respond to pings over Wi-Fi despite being connected and networked ports were all down too. Unfortunately the kit is so new that no-one at BT was able to advise on what the correct configuration should be when NOT USING THE BT HUB AS A DHCP SERVER. Should I plug the device into the switch or the hub, how does it actually fail over? does it reroute traffic to the Hybrid device or does it swap IPs. If you have a bespoke or business setup similar to mine you'll be asking the same questions because this will largely determine your network topology/configuration and setup

Anyway, I determined the issue was the hub and BT are sending a new one. However the current one is mostly functional and barring another weird behaviour from it it's up until the new one arrives.

I figured time to research and try to find out the correct configuration. The good news is that after trying several configurations I know both the configuration and what happens when something bad happens. The bad news is that if your HUB blows you're basically up a creek without a paddle.