cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
gdburton
Beginner
Message 1 of 5

Is this drop cable liable to cause low speed connection problems.

Go to solution

I'm a computer service engineer and was called to a house with low speed connection problems. (sub 2Mbps when 8Mbps is predicted). I have done all the "normal" things like changing the ADSL filters and disconnected all other internal equipment, connected Home Hub to the master socket but no improvement on speed.

I thought this may be a good place to get the advice of some sage BT hands? 🙂

The connection comes about 35m from the telegraph pole, supported along the way by the facia board of the next door house. Where the support cable is attached to the customers house there is a fairly untidy loop of additional cable flapping in the wind.

Also further down the wall before entering the house there is an additional slack loop which looks like someone has yanked on it. But the main reason I was concerned about the drop cable is that it is not twisted pair but "figure of 8" side by side cable, (Like old lighting flex.) In addition it feels quite brittle. So where it is flapping in the wing I suspect that the insulation could have cracked and let moisture in.

Are my concerns justified? Should the customer expect BT to replace the drop cable?

I have some photos that show the state of things.

While there would the BT engineer also replace the old LJU2 master socket with a new NTE5 one and ideally resite it to the room with the Home hub?

Many thanks

0 Ratings
4 REPLIES 4
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 5

Re: Is this drop cable liable to cause low speed connection problems.

Go to solution
Is there any noise on the phone line ? if not then there would be a charge for moving and reinstalling the master socket

BT is not responsible for the Network that is Openreach

Is the user a BT Broadband user if not then his speed issues are with his ISP not BT