Did you mean: 
Highlighted
alan_mc
Contributor
Message 1 of 21

MK4 Faceplate

Go to solution

Hi all,

I have a Master Socket 5C and wanted to purchase a MK4 Faceplate.  Is it just plug and play - no rewiring required?

E.G. Master socket in Garage.  when  smartbub plugged into test, speed stable as is connection.  when i attach the front plate, the speed drops which means internal wiring/extensions causing noise.

I've read that the MK4 will help.  I plan to just leave the Router in the garage (attached to house) and run powerline adapter to effectively ethernet the other connections around the home.  I have this already with hub connected to test socket and works perfectly.

I don't want to have my phone in the garage though and from what i've read, this basically isolates the broadband signal the same way as having it inserted in the test socket and thus activating my extensions for phone again.

Would a MK4 just slot on in place of the existing 5c faceplate?

I've only been able to locate the full package, but i only want to buy the faceplate.

Thanks

0 Ratings
20 REPLIES 20
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 21

Re: MK4 Faceplate

Go to solution

if you are having problems with noise due to your extension wiring I cannot see how changing faceplate will help as extensions will still be connected  you really need to find the extension that is causing the problem

If you like a post, or want to say thanks for a helpful answer, please click on the Ratings 'Thumbs up' on left hand side.
If someone answers your question correctly please let other members know by clicking on ’Mark as Accepted Solution’.
0 Ratings
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 3 of 21

Go to solution

Its supposed to be a direct replacement, and clips on, just like the 5C. It has the inbuilt filter, and connections to connect any extensions to the filtered side.