Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
h0race
Message 1 of 4

New Smart Hub 2: Macbooks will not connect to network

Hi

I'd be really grateful for some advice.

We recently upgraded our Smart Hub to a Smart Hub 2 (with one disc). It's been great for the most part.

We have a number of different devices in the house - windows  laptops, android phones, media players etc - and they all connect to the network without issue.

We also have two Macbooks, both running the latest OS. Neither will connect to the Smart Hub 2 (they continuously connect and disconnect every few seconds). The only solution I have found so far is to switch off the 5ghz band in the hub settings. Both Macbooks connect normally when this is done.

I'm no expert, but am I right in thinking this has something to do with the Smart Hub 2 not having the facility to split the 2.4ghz and 5ghz bands?

Is there a way I can get the Macbooks to connect to the network without switching off 5ghz?

Thanks

Martin

0 Ratings
3 REPLIES 3
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 4

Re: New Smart Hub 2: Macbooks will not connect to network

0 Ratings
h0race
Message 3 of 4

Thanks Keith

I'll have a look at those links.

Interestingly, switching the 5ghz band back on while the Macbooks are connected immediately causes them to go back to a connect/disconnect loop. They are of different vintages (2012 and 2017) so I suspect it's a software (rather than hardware) issue.

The Macbooks had no problems with the previous Smart Hub, which I set up with split bands (with different names). 

Is there a technical reason why the Smart Hub 2 does not allow this?

Cheers

0 Ratings
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 4 of 4

@h0race wrote:

Is there a technical reason why the Smart Hub 2 does not allow this?

The BT Device team say its so they can work with the black disks. It causes lots of issues with dual band devices, especially Apple products.