cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
charliebunny
Beginner
Message 1 of 17

New house - wifi signal not available in annexe. Need advice.

Hi
I wonder if anyone can help me. Sorry, I'm not very technical!

We moved house this week and out home hub (3) does not cover this new house. It is a bungalow but a weird long shape with an annexe - which is where I live and wifi will not connect there (I got a limited signal at best and that did nothing).
I tried phoning the helpline last night but after two seperate calls each lasting well over an hour I still hadn't been helped (I don't think they understood what I was getting at!). We have moved the hub closer but then my father doesn't get a signal in his office, so that won't work.

I have looked on the site at the 'mini hub' and the range of extenders etc - which is best? Basically I want something I can just plug in to this part of the house, which will then give me wifi here on the same contract as the main hub as I work from home. The website here is not very helpful, just listing the specs! We are long term BT customers.

Or would a second normal hub be better? I do have the points to attach one.

Thanks in advance!

0 Ratings
16 REPLIES 16
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 17

Re: New house - wifi signal not available in annexe. Need advice.

0 Ratings
charliebunny
Beginner
Message 3 of 17

Thank you.

Is that better than the 'mini hub' that they are advertising alongside the 'Smart hub' and the black 500 version then? It's so difficult to tell which is the newest, best version! I've just been googling about powerline etc and it does seem like the right solution though.

mini hub: http://bt.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/56012/c/346/related/1

500 : http://www.shop.bt.com/products/bt-mini-wi-fi-home-hotspot-500-kit-079029-9N14.html

0 Ratings
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 4 of 17

@charliebunny wrote: