cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Limeydog
Beginner
Message 1 of 9

Setting up LAN game (MineCraft/macs/BTHub6)

Go to solution
Help... please. I’m sure someone out there must be able to give hand-holding steps to do this. Searched high and low for answers.

• game: MineCraft
• want to have 2 macs play together via LAN
• both computers are at the same address IP
• get error message that reads to the effect: Failed to connect to server... ...connection timed out

From all the research I have done it sounds like it relates to port forwarding and/or a permission enabled on the online control panel for the hub (BTHub6-7TH7).

I am not very tech savvy. If you solved this yourself, I would be so grateful, more over, my kids would be.

Many thanks for reading.
0 Ratings
8 REPLIES 8
brookheather
Aspiring Expert
Message 2 of 9

Re: Setting up LAN game (MineCraft/macs/BTHub6)

Go to solution

Where is the Minecraft server - on your network?  Is one of the Macs acting as a server?  Nothing to do with port forwarding or your Hub if everything is running on your LAN.  Are your Mac firewalls disabled?  (Check the firewall in Security under System Preferences).

0 Ratings
Limeydog
Beginner
Message 3 of 9

Go to solution
Hi Heather, thanks for replying. The server is hosted by one computer for the other to join. I tried Firewall off (on both CPUs), and retried again just now, doesn’t connect.
0 Ratings
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 4 of 9

Go to solution

Nothing to do with port forwarding, that is onlyrequired for external servers.

Both computers can't both have the same IP address, are you looking at the public IP address of your hub or their local private LAN addresses, they will be in the range 192.168.1.xxx

0 Ratings
Limeydog
Beginner
Message 5 of 9

Go to solution

Hi Licquorice and thanks.