Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Gwalker124
Beginner
Message 1 of 11

Using google whole home with bt broadband

Hi

I am moving to a new house next month and have ordered bt broadband.

I currently have a google whole home WiFi system and wondered what is the best way to use this?

I have also ordered tv and I know the tv box must be plugged into the router but I was wondering if I can turn the router WiFi off and use the google mesh system for my WiFi?

Would this work ok? Also would the tv box still work as it would be cabled into the router using the bt plug connectors and doesn’t work on a WiFi network.

Can anyone see any problems with this idea?

I don’t know my set up as I’ve not moved in yet so I don’t know if there is a Openreach modem in the place and if so can I just do away with the bt router and plug the google mesh into this or is the router still required to do er the routing?

Sorry I am new to this kind of thing and setting up networks usually seems pretty complicated when I try and search for answers on google.

Thanks

Gary
0 Ratings
10 REPLIES 10
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 11

Re: Using google whole home with bt broadband

First of all will your broadband be FTTC and delivered by copper from the cabinet or will it be FTTP, fibre delivered. If the latter, then you will have an ONT which is an optical modem which you can connect your Google mesh to directly without using a Home Hub. If you will be getting FTTC, the Home hub can't be used in modem only mode. You can turn off the wifi but it will still be routing and natting. You could always buy a stand alone modem rather than use the hub. How are you connecting at the moment in your current house?

0 Ratings
Gwalker124
Beginner
Message 3 of 11

Thanks for your reply.

It is FTTP so sounds like I can just connect the mesh to that.

Will this work with the bt tv if I run an Ethernet from the google mesh to the tv box?