cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Martin955
Aspiring Contributor
Message 1 of 41

VPN issues

Does BT restrict the use of VPNs? As many of us are I have been working from home this last couple of months. For a start via the VPN our company has had set up for years, I used to be a Site Manager & the system worked fine over a 4g dongle. But at home I was finding it very slow, I'm paying for Fibre Broadband so was a little disappointed. I did a speed test & found I was getting 20Mbps, but when connected to the VPN this dropped to 200Kbps. I called BT faults & they made an appointment for an engineer, but it was 10 days away.

I had some discussions with our IT Man, & he said that BT throttle back speed when on VPNs. He did some research & installed an alternative VPN for me. This worked fine for several weeks with no drop in speed. During this time I've had 3 engineers looking at our 1/2 speed Internet. Last week I couldn't get either VPN to connect at all, & our speed issue hadn't been resolved. I had long conversations with BT faults & yesterday another engineer managed to get our line onto a copper cable from the cabinet ti the end of our road. Most of our Village is served by an aluminium cable that should have been replaced 3 years ago. Yesterday afternoon I was getting 50Mbps & the VPN worked fine. This morning I can't connect to the VPN again.

As you can imagine I'm rather annoyed. Why did it work yesterday & not today? Is there an ulterior motive by BT?

Our company has around 20 people working via this set up, only 2 of us are on BT & we are the only 2 with problems. Our IT man says Talk Talk is the best option. 

0 Ratings
40 REPLIES 40
Martin955
Aspiring Contributor
Message 2 of 41

Re: VPN issues