cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
newcountrygirl
Beginner
Message 1 of 8

browser keeps freezing

Not sure if i am posting this on the correct part of the form so apologies.  I am fairly new to BT fibreoptic broadband.  The past couple of days my browser is really slow and today the blue circle is constantly going round and then freezing up.  I am so fed up as we got the fibreoptic broadband so we would have a quicker connection.  I am not at all computer literate so I apologise in advance. 

I am using mozilla Firefox as a browser as when we first got the BT broadband about a month ago it wouldnt work well with Google but was fairly quick with mozilla.  Now it is hopeless. Please help.

0 Ratings
7 REPLIES 7
Liam_
Expert
Message 2 of 8

Re: browser keeps freezing

Try going to Tools in the menu bar, click Options, then Advanced.
Click the Clear Now buttons.
Restart Firefox and see if that helps.

0 Ratings
A1944
Expert
Message 3 of 8

Is it the browser freezing, or is it a problem with the connection speed?  If you can get onto speedtest.net and check the speeds, you might find that sometimes it is well below the expected figure for Infinity (you should be getting a download figure of at least 30-40 Mbps reported).  If that proves to be the case, then you can start trying to find the reason for that rather than chasing problems with browsers, which could be a red herring.

0 Ratings
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 4 of 8

What makes you say that the OP should be getting at least 30-40Mbps on Infinity. Infinity is sold at anything from 15Mbps to 80Mbps and below 15Mbps fibre is sold as Faster Broadband.

The OP needs to post the estimate for his line, the stats, if obtainable from his Homehub a speed test and the guaranteed minimum speed that BT said he would get.

Once that information is known it may be possible to assist the OP.

0 Ratings
A1944
Expert
Message 5 of 8

@gg30340 wrote: