cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
mjb
Message 1 of 12

increase in usage query

I have been on option one for ever and have never gone over my usage allowance (10gb), now all of a sudden it has shot up. 27gb in august, 43 gb in sept and already on 9.1gb for october. Nothing has changed at my end- no one games on line, downloads music or film etc or has increased internet usage. In fact we wouldnt know where to start. Rang BT. Their answer was to just up grade as they couldnt tell me what was being downloaded. But I dont want to but also cant afford the additional £33 they have wacked on to my bill for exceeding the allowance. Can any 'normal' person give me advice on how to look into this bearing in mind Im a novice with computers. thanks

0 Ratings
11 REPLIES 11
Distinguished Guru
Message 2 of 12

Re: increase in usage query

@mjb wrote:

I have been on option one for ever and have never gone over my usage allowance (10gb), now all of a sudden it has shot up. 27gb in august, 43 gb in sept and already on 9.1gb for october. Nothing has changed at my end- no one games on line, downloads music or film etc or has increased internet usage. In fact we wouldnt know where to start. Rang BT. Their answer was to just up grade as they couldnt tell me what was being downloaded. But I dont want to but also cant afford the additional £33 they have wacked on to my bill for exceeding the allowance. Can any 'normal' person give me advice on how to look into this bearing in mind Im a novice with computers. thanks

Hi.

Hope you don't mind a few questions.

Do you use wireless ? How many computers are connected to your network ?

What anti-virus or other security package do you have installed on the computers ?

For the usage for October, did you check with the online checker now available ? If so - you might like to check daily for a bit to see what figures are showing.

0 Ratings
hamish72
Recognised Expert
Message 3 of 12