I am currently trying to remove all disconnected devices from my homehub... and its taking ages!
Over the years, we have gathered a great number of passing visitors, old devices, and other various childrens toys which needed a connection. As of today, there are only 17 actual connected devices, but i have a list of near 100. Removing them one by one is laborious andslow
is there a way to list all devices, tick the ones i want to remove, and click delete just once.
or is it easier and quicker to reset the hub, and reconnect only the 17 devices we actually currently use?
Just factory reset the hub using the recessed button.
You won't need to 'reconnect them' they will reconnect themselves.
The only way to quickly clear them is a factory reset by pressing a pin into the recess button on the rear for about 30 seconds. This should clear all the settings in the hub.
You will need to re connect all your devices when it is done if you have changed the wireless password from the one that came with the hub.
The devices that are no longer connected will be able to rejoin your network if the password has not been changed.
If all you are wanting to do is stop the disconnected devices from re-joining your hub just change the wireless password. You will of course need to reconnect your other devices with the new password.
Rightly or wrongly, i was under the impression that a lot of listed, previously connected devices would slow the wifi a little.... thinking the hub is constantly checking if each device is still available to connect to...
Its only 17 devices i need... so i will probably do a reset.
No, it won't slow the WiFi, the hub won't be checking to see if the devices are connected or not.
@littlesparkwrote:Rightly or wrongly, i was under the impression that a lot of listed, previously connected devices would slow the wifi a little.... thinking the hub is constantly checking if each device is still available to connect to...
Its only 17 devices i need... so i will probably do a reset.
The hub only allows devices to connect to it if they have the correct password.
It could not care what devices have previously connect to it and does not scan to see if they are wanting to connect.
Can you imagine how many devices connect to public wifi networks such as on trains, in pubs, at McDonalds etc.
Their systems would grind to a halt if their router was constantly scanning for previous connected devices.
understood... but a public wifi hotspot is different from my home wifi network.... they can be set to forget every connection overnight... and these will need a separate login as well as network password, if there is one.
All the devices that are listed have, at one time, been connected... whether its old phones, old computers visitors etc
Why keep a list of previously connected devices? To match up if that device ever comes back into range i would think... and reconnect automatically.
It must take a little time for the hub to go "hello device, do i know you? let me check my list....... " then either "oh, there you are, welcome back".... or.... "hello, you're new.... password please"
Milliseconds if that! If you don't want them to connect again, you will need to change the password regardless of whether you do a factory reset or not.
Bizarrely, it's the device itself that checks if a WiFi network it has previously used is available rather than the hub looking for a previously connected device, so you would be better off deleting all the WiFi networks your phone once connected to.
Either way, it will have absolutely zero effect on your WiFi speed.
@gg30340 Oh I do love that picture. Cheered me up, no end.