Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
mikey2000
Beginner
Message 1 of 14

Help removing landline extensions.

Hi,

I have a BT Infinity master box on the wall.  It has a socket for broad band (Home Hub Router) and another for our landline answerphone.  All good so far.

It also has two other phone lines coming out of the master socket through a little opening at the bottom.  These are for phone sockets in two other rooms.

I no longer need these additional two sockets and would like to remove the two cables that go from the main socket to the other rooms.

I have a feeling I shouldn't just yank them out of the master socket 🙂

Can I just simply cut the cables beneath the master socket? 

Here's a dropbox link to a pic of my socket.  I'd like to remove the two white wires appearing from the bottom of the socket:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/ukmoib0szk81u96/Photo%2024-11-2017%2C%2011%2050%2007.jpg?dl=0

clickable pic link hopefully

Any advice much appreciated.

0 Ratings
13 REPLIES 13
Highlighted
mikey2000
Beginner
Message 2 of 14

Re: Help removing landline extensions.

0 Ratings
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 3 of 14

If you remove the bottom section, the extensions should be connected to the back, an can simply be pulled out of the IDC connector.

0 Ratings
mikey2000
Beginner
Message 4 of 14

Thanks but my extension wires seem to disappear into the box (not attached at all to the removable lower plate)  (See second pic, uploaded just a second ago)

I haven't tried removing the top of the socket (with the infinity socket)

0 Ratings
mikey2000
Beginner
Message 5 of 14

0 Ratings
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 6 of 14

@mikey2000 wrote:

Thanks but my extension wires seem to disappear into the box (not attached at all to the removable lower plate)  (See second pic, uploaded just a second ago)

I haven't tried removing the top of the socket (with the infinity socket)