Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Beginner
Message 1 of 9

Lost Landline due to Virgin mistake

Go to solution

Hello, I am new to this sub because of an issue that arose as yesterday and have been on a wild goose chase since. 

@Keith_Beddoe , @JohnC2 ,  I hope you don't mind me including you on this because of this post.

I am in the same situation as that post, where we've had the telephone number for over 30 years. I was with NowTV for the past year and decided to switch to Virgin in April, including a full number port. The installation was scheduled for 9th May, which was completed successfully. I was informed via text that the port has a delay and would take 7-10 days to resolve. My NowTV was to cut-off yesterday (12th), as that was the last day of my contract. 

I rang Virgin this morning who admitted that although the port request had been made, it was the wrong type. I've contacted NowTV, who have informed me that the number was cut off as soon as my contract ended. I've tried seeing the allocation on Magenta, after reading about it online, and it is saying that it is allocated but I am not sure what that means.

Is there anything that can be done? The post I have linked gives me some hope.

Thanks in advance,

Preyesh. 

0 Ratings
8 REPLIES 8
Highlighted
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 9

Re: Lost Landline due to Virgin mistake

Go to solution

@preyeshchauhan 

NowTV would not be able to port your number to Virgin, because NowTV did not own your number, it belonged to BT Retail, and would have returned to BT Retail when your NowTV service was cancelled. It will now be held by BT for re-allocation to another BT customer, some time in the future.

The only way to get your number back, would be to return your landline service back to BT Retail.

Virgin should be able to provide you with TV and broadband, without a phone line.

0 Ratings
Highlighted
Beginner
Message 3 of 9

Go to solution