cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Expert
Message 51 of 162

Re: New Digital Voice home phone service on BT

@Tezzwrote:

I am new to understanding this.  Does this mean, the telephones work off the internet?  And if so, what if there is a power cut in my house?

BT say that they can supply a battery backup that'll last for an hour. 

0 Ratings
Highlighted
Aspiring Expert
Message 52 of 162

@Andy005wrote:
BT say that they can supply a battery backup that'll last for an hour. 

One hour? Are they joking! Most power cuts we’ve had last hours, whilst they repair the overhead lines which have typically suffered a geese or swan strike.

I’m starting to realise that BT have no idea about real life outside cities. Six years ago I had to phone for the air ambulance in the middle of a long power cut for our neighbour having a heart attack.

0 Ratings
Highlighted
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 53 of 162

@tarbat wrote:

@Keith_Beddoewrote:

More info here https://www.bt.com/broadband/digital-voice-learnpage/?s_cid=con_FURL_digital-voice

Interesting bit about using your existing telephone. What “extra equipment” is needed?

QUOTE: “If you choose to keep your existing home phones we’ll need to send you some extra equipment, to ensure they work with your Digital Voice service.

Probably  some form of power supply, to provide the 50V needed for other phones, as there will not be any 50V supply from the home hub.

0 Ratings
Highlighted
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 54 of 162

@tarbat wrote:

Will it be possible to pair existing DECT phones with the new BT Digital Voice home phone? We have 4 existing DECT phones, I don’t really want to have to buy new ones, particularly if they can only ever be used with BT’s digital voice service.