Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Broken_Sword
Beginner
Message 1 of 6

No Dial Tone and Broadband problems

Hi all, newbie here.

Not a complaint (yet!) but I'm hoping for some guidance.

Last Wednesday (11-01-12) I experienced a total loss of service (phone, broadband) on my BT line around 9pm. I came in from work the following day and the broadband was working intermittently (synched at 2meg rather than the usual 8-9meg) but still no dial tone on the phone. I did the testing at the test socket, 2 different corded phones, broadband router with 3 different filters, with the same results. So I did a line test/reported the fault to BT online and was informed that the fault was likely in the 'BT Network' rather than 'near' or 'in' the home or at the exchange. A repair time of 5pm Tuesday 17-01-12 was given. Fair enough, still within the window.

However, I should mention that I have my broadband and call package with Sky. My line rental is still with BT, I didn't switch it in case something like this happened and I ended up with another layer of red tape to go through. But did I do right by reporting it to BT (my line provider) rather than Sky (the service provider)? I have since found out that four others (likely more, I don't know that many people here) in my neighbourhood have exactly the same problem with their line, three of them with BT only.

I'm not even sure what I'm asking here, but if the fault isn't repaired by the given date, who should I be looking to hassle? 

Again, thanks for any advice :smileysad:

EDIT: I maybe should mention that I am at the Rock Ferry exchange on Merseyside (LVROC), in case anyone is wandering through with the same problem. Duffy won't want to come here with all this going on :smileywink:

0 Ratings
5 REPLIES 5
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 6

Re: No Dial Tone and Broadband problems