cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
apulmax
Contributor
Message 1 of 14

No fault found so we are going to bill you £99 and lie about your wiring!!

Déjà vu yet again with BT.

For a while I had people telling me that they have been calling me several times but I have not been in.

I had been in but never heard the phone ring. I then get a call from my Brother on my mobile, he said "are you not at home?"

"Yes" I replied. He said he had been calling me but there was no answer. I asked him to call me again on the landline, which he did. The phone eventually rang which I answered. He said it had been ringing for 8 to 10 times before I answered it. I said I answered it staright away.

After ringing several times from different landlines to my landline and elliminating any internal equipment or wiring fault (I am an ex telephone engineer so know what I am doing) I called BT. The woman on the other end did a line test but that came back clear. I then asked her to ring me and count the amount of rings up to me answering. she did so and told me it had rang 6 times. We did it twice more and it ranged from 4 to 6 riings before ringing this end.

She asked what did I want to do about it. I said you need to fix it as people are hanging up before I the phone rings.

She promptly went through the process off booking an "Openreach" engineer to visit but promptly read off a script that if the engineer does not find a fault or the fault is located on my equipment or internal wiring, then I will be charged £99.

I said to them that I have no internal wiring, just the dropwire coming into a master socket which my broadband router and DECT phone plugs into. I have also swapped phones to prove the DECT phones are not causing any issues.