cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Ingybabe01
Message 1 of 15

Re: SCAM Beware - Indian people calling claiming to be from BT

Absolutely exhasperated by BT just lately. 

2 days before Christmas i have received not 1 but 2 calls from someone in India claiming to be from BT and that they have identified an error with my BT router which is damaging my computer on a daily basis.   Now to say i am not technically minded is an understatement but I was suspicious and so I aksed them to confirm they were from BT and give me my account number.  They couldn't so that made me more suspicious and they kept asking me to press the Windows Control and R key on my computer key board.  When I said I wasn't going to press anything until they could confirm they were from BT. At this point they hung up.!   so beware people they trying to catch you off your guard at Christmas time.

What is really annoying (anyone at BT who is reviewing this forum please take note), is that I tried to contact BT in the UK to let them know, yet you apparently can no only ever speak to someone in India.  Turns out that BT have known about this for sometime, YET and heres the  important bit, YOU failed to let your existing customers know.  A text, an email, a letter or a phone call all viable means of cummunications with your customers which would save them any distress, inconvenience and potentially being scammed by these people.

Come on BT get your act together.  I expect more from a multi national global firm.

Angry customer.

0 Ratings
14 REPLIES 14
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 15

Do you mean advice like this.

https://www.btplc.com/inclusion/ProductsAndServices/Scams/index.htm

http://bt.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/48253/~/security-warning---fraud-activities

http://home.bt.com/lifestyle/money/money-tips/beware-the-new-breed-of-computer-takeover-scams-113640...