cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
IceFoxx07
Aspiring Contributor
Message 1 of 10

Why would a genuine BT caller ask me to take a screwdriver to my phone socket?

Go to solution

Called earlier by BT person. Caller wanted questions answering about my home BT set-up but I refused asking for furhter ID. He then told me the amount of my last bill which was correct, however I still didn't believe he was who he said he was.  He mentioned my recent upgrade and told me that my broadband speed was only a quarter of what I should be getting and went on to ask about extensions around the home etc. When he wasn't getting any acceptable responses from me, only suspicion, he went on to ask me to take a screwdriver to my BT phone socket in the home. I'm not a BT engineer and told him that I was definitely NOT doing anything of the sort. He said he would call again tomorrow regarding this when I should be near the socket with the screwdriver in hand. My question is this:  is he a GENUINE BT employee - I did a 1471 after the call - which revealed he called  me from 0800 328 9393  which appears to be genuine - but IS IT??  Or is it somehow a scammer who is re-routing this number?  My question is basically is this a scam and should I be prepared to do as he asks?  Currently I am NOT.

0 Ratings
9 REPLIES 9
harrycrac
Contributor
Message 2 of 10

Re: Why would a genuine BT caller ask me to take a screwdriver to my phone socket?

Go to solution

Yes i also used to be told i had to unscrew the socket cover, i did it once and could hardly get back up again. Used to be one of their fault finding checks, 2nd time they asked me to do it and told them to go away and send out an engineer. Its their equipment i pay rent for, they installed it and are the experts in telcommunications, so let them come and check it out.

IceFoxx07
Aspiring Contributor
Message 3 of 10

Re: Why would a genuine BT caller ask me to take a screwdriver to my phone socket?