PaulusAlone

BT Yahoo! Sign-in seal...?

Hiya,

Does anyone know if BT Yahoo! have killed off the security 'Sign-In Seal ?'

Because it isn't showing mine anymore when I sign in to BT Yahoo on my home PC, and it isn't asking me if I want to create a new one (like it used to) if I erased my cookies etc. I don't think my sign in page is a 'phising' page, but I'm no expert, so...

Anyone know what has happened to it and do I need to worry?

Thanks for your time.

Aspiring Expert
AlunH

Re: BT Yahoo! Sign-in seal...?

To be honest, mine rarely showed up... can't remember the last time I saw it.  I'm guessing that it's an issue at Yahoo's end as opposed to a security issue.

Cheers
Alun

"Can a leopard change it's shorts?" - T Prattchet
Distinguished Guru
Ectophile

It's still working for me.

It should be pretty obvious if you are on a phishing page just by looking at the address in the browser.  If it's (something).yahoo.com then it's genuine, otherwise it isn't.

I have never found the sign in seal that reliable, and it does go away if cookies are deleted.  It's a handy indication that you are on the right site, but I wouldn't rely on it entirely.

PaulusAlone

Yeah? It seems that the 'sign-in seal' isn't too reliable then?

Pheww...I gotta admit that does actually ease my mind quite a bit!

Though that does meanYahoo! need to get their act together!

Many Thanks Anyways. ^^

PaulusAlone

Thanks for the useful URL/phising advice - I'm ashamed to say that it wasn't obvious to me (I came into computers and the Internet late, I'm afraid).

Judging from your reply as well, it seems like the 'sign-in seal' is a bit of a joke?

I know it has gone before when I've cleared out my cookies, but it usually prompted me to make a new one when I next signed-in to BT Yahoo! And this seems to have stopped as well lately, so I was a little worried - However, as you say, it doesn't seem safe to rely on it too much.

Thanks again for the advice.

Have a good weekend. ^^