Expert
HHGTTG

BT Yahoo mail Account password change

I'm new to BT BB as you may be aware and being of a rather nervous anxious temperament ask too many questions.

Part of the process of getting the above means being issued with a BT mail email address and together with this a 16 digit alphanumeric password. Frankly I won't be ever using this account but thought that I would delve into it occasionally to see whether BT had left any important emails.

With this in mind I thought that i ought to change the default clumsy password to something more for me to remember but when I looked into this, it appeared that if I change the password to something more memorable, it says something about that this action would also be applied to signing on to BT's My Account where one checks one's account and bills etc. Is this true?

Many thanks.

Sage
Keith_Beddoe

Re: BT Yahoo mail Account password change

Your My BT login and password should be totally seperate from your e-mail one. Did you use the e-mail that BT gave you, as your My BT user name. And did you use the same password as well?

You do need to check your primary e-mail account from time to time, as BT do send service messages to it.

There are some useful help pages here, for BT Broadband customers only, on my personal website.

BT Broadband customers - help with broadband, WiFi, networking, e-mail and phones.

Expert
HHGTTG

Keith_Beddoe wrote:

Your My BT login and password should be totally seperate from your e-mail one. Did you use the e-mail that BT gave you, as your My BT user name. And did you use the same password as well?

You do need to check your primary e-mail account from time to time, as BT do send service messages to it.

I signed up for BT BB over the phone and I was given a BT email address with a bit of help from myself to establish the bit before the @ sign. I was subsequently sent a barrage of email including the password to associate with my BT email address.