Beginner
glenpalmer

Home Hub 3 and QNAP Problems

Hi guys,

Hopefully someone might be able to help me out here, i'm no techie so i've probably done something wrong.

I have recently moved over to BT Broadband and have a home hub version 3, previously i was on my own router and never had any issues with my QNAP NAS box.

The QNAP has a static IP address locally defined as 192.168.1.150 and i used to be able to connect fine on my old router, i've not changed any settings on the QNAP and now i can no longer see the web interface via the home hub 3.

If i ping the IP address 192.168.1.150 from any other machine on my network i get a reply from the QNAP, the device is listed when i look at the web interface on the home hub also, so the QNAP is there but i can't access port 8080 which is the web interface.

I've tried to stop the firewall temporarily to see if this makes a difference but the page will still not display.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Glen

Contributor
PeterT

Re: Home Hub 3 and QNAP Problems

I assume that you are trying to connect to the QNAP server when you are locally connected to your router.

I also assume that you browse to the server using http://192.168.1.150:8080

What is the response in your browser?

User Name: Peter T
BT equipment: PSTN Telephone
Devices: N900, 2 x linux netbooks, 2 x linux servers, FRITZ!Box, Samsung Galaxy Tab
Aspiring Contributor
kevsimo

I use a qnap and had some problems recently, my issue was that the home hub and the router duplicate what you can set.

I made sure that the static IP is set on the home hub menu and not the qnap admin menu.

The other things Ive done is to set the port forwarding for the various services, but I am no expert on that.

Beginner
glenpalmer

Thanks for the response guys, sorry for the delay in an update but i've been working away from home and only got back this evening.