Beginner
savagexi

Novice with an IP Camera using Home Hub 3

Hi,

I have recently brought an IP camera with the aim to be able to remotely watch our new dog during the day to make sure everything is ok.  Now the problem is I am quite new to this so as you can imagine I am having problems viewing it.

I have followed the instructions to setup the camera (brought from Clas Ohlson) and can view the camera within the home network.  The problem comes when trying to view from an external network, I am not sure what IP address to put in, port etc etc.  Followed other forums, got my external IP address, tried port forwarding using the BT Home Hub 3 (selecting app as HTTP forwarding to camera) but nothing seems to work.

Would love someone to give basic advise how to sort this out, I'm in desperate need of step by step instructions.

All the best

James

Contributor
machasm

Re: Novice with an IP Camera using Home Hub 3

Although I haven't got hooked up with my HH3 yet (waiting for install on Thursday) the way these things work is as follows:

A router (your HH3 in this instance) has one external IP address which is seen from the outside world.

Lets take an example of 82.235.211.3 as your public IP.(this number is completely fictional).

This number has to be used to pass on information (web browsing, messaging, email etc etc) to any number of devices on an internal network all with their own IP addresses (normally in the form of 192.168.X.X).

These internal addresses are handed out using the DHCP (Dynamic Host Configuration protocol) server which is in the HH3.

Now lets say that your computer is on 192.168.1.2 for example and your ip camera is on 192.168.1.3.

The HH3 needs to know what has been requested by which piece of equipment so that when a response comes back from the public end it knows where to pass the info onto.

This is known as NAT (Network Address Translation).