Beginner
Peter321

Outlook unable to connect to POP3 or SMTP servers

Hi, I'm new to BT and using a forum for help with a problem for the first time.  I would be most grateful if someone could provide a solution to my problem.

I changed my ISP from Talktalk to BT and the switch was made on 5th Aug.  I would prefer to use Outlook for my email and I have been assured by BT that their system supports Outlook.  I am on Broadband Option 1 and have a BT Homehub 3.  I used the BT Desk top help to connect to Outlook.  The connection was made and I used Outlook successfully for about 2 weeks.  I then could not connect with the server for no apparent reason.  I checked all connections and settings and even got BT to check the account settings but still no connection.  Then suddenly Outlook came to life and was OK for 2 days then reverted to being unable to connect.  I've tried disconnecting and reconnecting, deleting the Outlook account and reinstating it, checked connectivity and told OK and repairing the email account.  The repair process told me the network connection was established and that it searched for, and obtained, the server settings but it could not log on to the server.

The error message I get when trying to connect my email through Outlook is 'Can not connect to incoming (POP3) email server, error code 0x80042108, same message for the outgoing (SMTP) server, error code 0x80042109