gxa747

Where's my lovely shredder software gone?

Hi

We recently had a problem and BT sent us a nice new shiny black router. Ok so far. But I notice that the McAfee software now looks different. In the old software, hidden away under Tools there was a great little utility that shredded files by overwriting them up to 10 times with random character sequences. This was great for making sure that any files with financial data on them were completely destroyed and could never be recovered by some scalliwag.

But in the new version of McAfee, I can't find it! Was I the only person who stumbled upon this Really Useful Thing? Am I the only person to miss this? Or... maybe... it was just a dream... :smileysurprised:

Geoff

Beginner
stevesevern

Re: Where's my lovely shredder software gone?

Hi Geoff. Don't know if this will help. I have a yearly subscription of McAfee, so not sure your software with hub will be the same. Mine changed recently as well. Its now a more compact box in middle of screen for security centre. It is titled McAfee  Anti Virus Plus and under that is green band with "Your computer is secure". At bottom are 5 tabs, the middle one being "Data Protection". If you click on the downward arrow on the right of this tab, it opens with Shredder link in blue. Click on that and another box opens with Shredder there. The settings can be changed top right of the Shredder box where there is a strange three dot and three line affair.

Thinking back though, when this new design appeared, I vaguely remember having to request the Quick clean add on, but can't remember about Shredder. It may have been that I clicked on data protect tab and it gave me the option to download or maybe I searched around on the tabs on the top right of my security centre. They are home, navigation, subscription and help and found the option to download shredder and quick clean.