Beginner
EdScratcher

My Landline is Dead but the internet works !

Hi, I am having trouble with my phone... it doesn't work. I have tried an old phone in the main socket and there is no dial-tone. However My internet works perfectly... I used  my Mobile to report the fault and when I eventually reached the automated lady she told me they were very busy... I hung up after 25 mins. Any Ideas please.

Aspiring Contributor
gilbery

Re: My Landline is Dead but the internet works !

im having the same problem but also with slow broadband and i can affoerd the engineer bill need help !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Aspiring Expert
champ1970

Hi, i'm an Openreach engineer and it sounds like you have a disconnection fault on your line... this means one of the 2 wires your phone line works on has broken... broadband can still work on one wire ( depending on which one breaks ) however your phone line cannot.... if you have tried another phone in test socket and still no dial tone, then try reporting via the BT.com site.... hope this helps

Beginner
EdScratcher

thanks Champ1970....

I Don't really want to go inside the landline box on the wall...TOO many wires for me...but I have left a message for SeanB the Moderator of this site with my Number and Acc. Number hoping that he would (grace me a favour).....here's hoping...because I can't use my Mobile like that....Surely BT could have a simple to use number/line checker...click here sort of thing... Thanks again

Guru
Devon_Dave

As mentioned by the openreach guy if you go to www.bt.com/faults you can run a line test. You would need to check into the test socket to check as BT are only responsible for the line upto and including this main socket.

Just be carefull when you remove the front plate.

It's worth doing the check, it could save you £127.99

(If I have helped you in any way to say "Thank You" please click on the star next to the message. Thank You)