Beginner
MandyShaw
Accepted Solution

Telephone Extension Problem - Help Please

Hi, I have a problem with a telephone extension & would appreciate the community's help.

I have a master socket on the ground floor which had a 4-wire hardwired extension connected to it some years ago (before I moved in to the house). The relevant extension socket is on the 2nd floor, with the cable going up the stairs. All four of the wires were connected within the master socket (blue, orange, white/orange, white/blue).

I have had broadband dropout problems for a long time, and these seem to be exacerbated by the extension. Reading up on this it would appear that the ringer wire being connected in the extension wiring may be relevant (?) I plugged my main telephone connection + ADSL into the test socket for a while. Although the broadband continued to drop, the frequency was much less.

My understanding was that disconnecting the main telephone from the master socket and plugging it into the test socket would disable the extension, so I didn't actually try the extension at all at this time.

I then plugged the main telephone connection + ADSL back in to the normal master socket. (I have also added a broadband interstitial plate to the master socket in the hope of sorting out my broadband problems - unproven as yet, but that's not really the point of this post.)

At this point I tried the extension, which (to my alarm) was dead. The four wires of the extension still appeared to be connected exactly as before.

I should, however, say that during all this we had had new stair carpet laid, and this has been placed over the extension cable - this obviously has a finite chance of having damaged the cable. 

Another aspect of this is that the extension 'phone handset is wall-mounted and we don't want to change it.