Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Distinguished Sage
Posts: 41,684
Registered: ‎27-01-2010
0 Ratings

Re: IPC6023 #2

You would need a managed or "smart" Ethernet switch to allow the multicast data to be passed. Most unmanaged switches will not do IGMP snooping, and pass the data to the YouView box, and stop BT Sport and any of the extra channels.

 

If you are using an old router as a switch, then its not going to work.

 

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Forumhelp (Private website) Lots of additional information for BT Residential Broadband connections only.

Distinguished Sage
Posts: 41,684
Registered: ‎27-01-2010
0 Ratings

Re: IPC6023 #2

[ Edited ]

mattswain24 wrote:

just purchased a new router from curry’s this was £19. 


What did you need that for, the home hub is the only router you need?

 

If you just need more Ethernet ports, then an Ethernet switch ia all that is needed. If you need more wirleless coverage, then a wireless access point is what you need.

 

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Forumhelp (Private website) Lots of additional information for BT Residential Broadband connections only.

Aspiring Expert
Posts: 184
Registered: ‎09-08-2014
0 Ratings

Re: IPC6023 #2


mattswain24 wrote:

just purchased a new router from curry’s this was £19. 


Return it and ask if you can swap it for an unmanaged switch, odds on that's the cause of your problem. 

You can prove it if you have a long enough lead simply by connecting direct to the main hub

Aspiring Expert
Posts: 184
Registered: ‎09-08-2014
0 Ratings

Re: IPC6023 #2


Keith_Beddoe wrote:

You would need a managed or "smart" Ethernet switch to allow the multicast data to be passed. Most unmanaged switches will not do IGMP snooping, and pass the data to the YouView box, and stop BT Sport and any of the extra channels.

 

If you are using an old router as a switch, then its not going to work.

 

 


With respect Keith, I beg to differ. I use an unmanaged switch with my own setup with no problems.

Distinguished Sage
Posts: 41,684
Registered: ‎27-01-2010
0 Ratings

Re: IPC6023 #2

[ Edited ]

V_Meldrew wrote:


Keith_Beddoe wrote:

You would need a managed or "smart" Ethernet switch to allow the multicast data to be passed. Most unmanaged switches will not do IGMP snooping, and pass the data to the YouView box, and stop BT Sport and any of the extra channels.

 

If you are using an old router as a switch, then its not going to work.

 

 


With respect Keith, I beg to differ. I use an unmanaged switch with my own setup with no problems.


Some unmanaged switches are "smart" switches. Which one is it that you are using?

 

There is a thread relating to this issue. https://community.bt.com/t5/Connected-Devices-Other/BT-Sport-4K-problems-with-NOW-TV-SMART-box/m-p/1...

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Forumhelp (Private website) Lots of additional information for BT Residential Broadband connections only.

Aspiring Expert
Posts: 184
Registered: ‎09-08-2014
0 Ratings

Re: IPC6023 #2


Keith_Beddoe wrote:

V_Meldrew wrote:


Keith_Beddoe wrote:

You would need a managed or "smart" Ethernet switch to allow the multicast data to be passed. Most unmanaged switches will not do IGMP snooping, and pass the data to the YouView box, and stop BT Sport and any of the extra channels.

 

If you are using an old router as a switch, then its not going to work.

 

 


With respect Keith, I beg to differ. I use an unmanaged switch with my own setup with no problems.


Some unmanaged switches are "smart" switches. Which one is it that you are using?

 

There is a thread relating to this issue. https://community.bt.com/t5/Connected-Devices-Other/BT-Sport-4K-problems-with-NOW-TV-SMART-box/m-p/1...

 


Mine's a Netgear GS608

 

Distinguished Sage
Posts: 41,684
Registered: ‎27-01-2010
0 Ratings

Re: IPC6023 #2

[ Edited ]

The Netgear GS608 is a smart Ethernet Switch. It looks at the layer 2 tags, and not just the physical MAC address like cheap network switches do.

 

http://www.downloads.netgear.com/files/GDC/GS608/GS605_608_datasheet_13May2004.pdf

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Forumhelp (Private website) Lots of additional information for BT Residential Broadband connections only.

Aspiring Expert
Posts: 184
Registered: ‎09-08-2014
0 Ratings

Re: IPC6023 #2

[ Edited ]

 

Keith_Beddoe wrote:

The Netgear GS608 is a smart Ethernet Switch. It looks at the layer 2 tags, and not just the physical MAC address like cheap network switches do.

 

http://www.downloads.netgear.com/files/GDC/GS608/GS605_608_datasheet_13May2004.pdf

 


Only to layer 2, multicast utilises layer 4

Beginner
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-01-2018
0 Ratings

Re: IPC6023 #2

The viewboxs works with catchup tv. Just live bt sport not working
Aspiring Expert
Posts: 184
Registered: ‎09-08-2014
0 Ratings

Re: IPC6023 #2


mattswain24 wrote:
The viewboxs works with catchup tv. Just live bt sport not working

Before we go any further could you confirm your network setup please. Based on your previous posts I believe it to be as follows:-

 

Your main hub (the one with the internet connection) connects to a secondary hub via powerline adapters and your youview box is connected by cable to the secondary hub. Is this correct and what hubs are you using?