Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Beginner
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎13-01-2018
0 Ratings

Youview box won't connect

For a few weeksy youview box won't connect to my router. Sometimes rebooting works but not today!! All other devices are working fine in the internet so I have no idea what is wrong....
Distinguished Sage
Posts: 41,684
Registered: ‎27-01-2010
0 Ratings

Re: Youview box won't connect

Welcome to this user forum.

 

How is the YouView box connected to the BT Home hub?

 

Have you tried a factory reset of the BT Home Hub?

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Forumhelp (Private website) Lots of additional information for BT Residential Broadband connections only.

Beginner
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎13-01-2018
0 Ratings

Re: Youview box won't connect

Hi Keith It's connected by Ethernet cable. I haven't tried a factory reset, will I lose anything?
Distinguished Sage
Posts: 41,684
Registered: ‎27-01-2010
0 Ratings

Re: Youview box won't connect


Nthomas wrote:
Hi Keith It's connected by Ethernet cable. I haven't tried a factory reset, will I lose anything?

Factory reset only the BT Home Hub, not the YouView box.

 

You will only lose any personal settings on the home hub, it will not affect the YouView box.

 

Factory reset your home hub

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Forumhelp (Private website) Lots of additional information for BT Residential Broadband connections only.

Contributor
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎18-11-2017
0 Ratings

Re: Youview box won't connect


Nthomas wrote:
All other devices are working fine in the internet so I have no idea what is wrong....

Then that leans to a problem with the box, not the Hub, if its a Hub. Are you using a BT Homehub or third party router?

Beginner
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎13-01-2018
0 Ratings

Re: Youview box won't connect

Im using a homehub. Tried a gactoeyvreset on the hub but no change.
Beginner
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎13-01-2018
0 Ratings

Re: Youview box won't connect

Sorry that should read factory reset!
Contributor
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎18-11-2017
0 Ratings

Re: Youview box won't connect

[ Edited ]

If your using a BT T2100 press & hold the power button on the box until it turns off and it will soft reset. It will take about 2 minutes for the box to reboot. Then reboot the hub again.

Beginner
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎13-01-2018
0 Ratings

Re: Youview box won't connect

I've done that several times over the last few days and still nothing....
Contributor
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎18-11-2017
0 Ratings

Re: Youview box won't connect

Then you may need a new box. But first get a mod involved. They can manually look at and analyse your setup.